Welcome to the Fisher Family: The Peripheral Season 1 Review

The Peripheral has some of the most compelling characters I have ever watched. Pair that with an awesome Sci-World and you get brillance!

Maurice watches too much tv logo

Do you want to know how I made it to the ripe old age of 24? There's one specific reason. I've had someone protecting me all this time. Spidey, my Spiderman stuffed animal!

Needless to say I have a special relationship with superheroes. Which explains the one exception to my self-inflicted no rated R movies rule. Kick-Ass!

Thinking about it now, not only is it rated R, but it has a curse word in the title. How scandalous. But it means when I heard about a new Chloe Grace Moretz show I thought two things. Firstly, where did this show come from? Then secondly, I knew I had to watch it. And wow, I'm so glad I did!

Flynne Fisher (Chloe Grace Moretz) and Wilf (Gary Carr) looking like bosses

Watch the first episode. No, I'm not kidding. Here is a link to the first episode: watch it now. The Peripheral’s first episode is a masterpiece.

The first episode of The Peripheral is one of the best episodes of TV I have ever seen. It sits comfortably in my top 10 best episodes ever. Which, let’s pause for a second. It is very hard for a first episode to be the best episode of a season. Especially when the rest of the season turns it into an excellent show. But Peripheral’s pilot is spectacular.

A quick disclaimer: there are a lot of reveals in the show. The mysteries of the world are what makes the show such an engaging watch. Unfortunately, that means this review will be quite vague. Because as we all know: I despise spoilers.

The brilliance of the first episode comes in two parts. Firstly, the worlds of the show are wonderful. Creating one fleshed out world is hard. Hard enough that a normal show couldn't dream of having two unique and compelling worlds. But Peripheral isn’t most shows. The settings in Peripheral are full of character. Both Flynne (Chloe Grace Moretz) and Wilf’s (Gary Carr) worlds are unqiue and beeming with life.

Secondly, I’ve never fallen in love faster with a group of characters than I did with the Fishers. I'm not sure exactly what it was that made feel so connected. Part of me thinks, it's because we are both from Texas? Or that I have a younger sister? But in reality, it's the excellent writing and acting. Every character is dynamic! By the end you feel a like part of the extended Fisher's family.

Remember, this review vague because I hate spoilers. So don’t think me spending so much time on the first episode means the rest isn't good. The 7 episodes that follow are fantastic. Peripheral reveals information at a slow tease keeps you entranced all season. As the worlds get more complex, your curiosity widens. And as you spend more time with them your connection with the characters only deepens.

Shoutout to all the actors! Jack Reynor (Burton) and Eli Goree (Conner) especially are fantastic! How are they not in every show ever? The Peripheral is my favorite Sci-Fi show of the past year. A definite much watch!

p.s. I saw Chloe Grace Moretz at the Boygenius concert at Forest Hills! Which means not only is she an amazing actress, but she has elite music taste.
p.p.s. Justice for Wells #The100 #NeverForget

Currently Watching: Unicorn Warriors Eternal, Secret Invasion, Drops of God, Full Circle, My Adventures with Superman, Gilmore Girls, The 100

Check out my watchlist here
Feel free to suggest stuff on my twitter @maurice_3_t

Reply

or to participate.